Skip to content

A bit of TV nostalgia

June 6, 2013

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I was watching TV last night I started reminiscing about the shows I grew up with, and I got a pang of nostalgia that these kind of shows are no longer with us. Remember the antics of Alfalfa, Buckwheat, Darla and the rest? Being a daddy’s girl, Father Knows Best was one of my favorites. My dad was a fan of westerns, so I had a crush on Adam Cartwright of Bonanza, wondered if Marshall Dillon would ever marry Miss Kitty, and prayed Wagon Train would safely reach its destination.   I saw the very first episode of Star Trek and was immediately in love with Mr. Spock. and wished I could get  stuck on a deserted island with a bunch of friends. Who would not love Lucy and Ethel, or “Eat my grits!” Flo from Alice?  I loved the Kramden’s and the Clampett’s, and the Cleaver’s.  Perry Mason made my heart palpitate, although I knew he belonged to Della Street. If I ever got into trouble, I hoped it would be Sgt. Joe Friday who would arrest me. Red Skelton had more personalities than “Sybil”, and I loved them all. Every household should have a Hazel, there would never be a dull moment. It would be much more entertaining if all the talent shows on TV took their cue from The Gong Show to get rid of lousy contestants. I know you haven’t forgotten our favorite Marine, Gomer Pyle, and how he used to drive Sgt. Carter to the brink of insanity. This is only a few of the shows I faithfully watched and immensely enjoyed. These were shows anyone could watch. They represent an era that is gone. It has been replaced with graphic sex, violence, and language. I have yet to understand why that is needed for a show to be entertaining. Oh well, I know I’m a dinosaur, but I am forever grateful for being born when I was.

From → Entertainment, Humor, TV

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

JustMy2Cents

What I think, but with muscle.

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Aussie Conservative Blog

Paleoconservative news and opinion

Scorched Earth News

Where The Establishment is Roasted

WEB OF DEBT BLOG

ARTICLES IN THE NEWS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . COMMENTS, FEEDBACK, IDEAS

